How to Create an LLC in Wyoming

Get the services and expert support you need to start a Wyoming LLC in a few simple steps.

Starts at $49 plus the $10 Wyoming filing fee
Questions? We Can Help!

state name in a frameWyomingwhite heart
How to Form an LLC in Wyoming:
5 Simple Steps to Get Started
According to the IRS, each state may use different regulations around forming an LLC, and you should check with your state if you’re interested in starting a Limited Liability Company. To simplify the process of forming an LLC in the state of Wyoming, we’ve put together a step-by-step guide to detail each step of the process and answer any questions you may have.

Step 1
Name Your Wyoming LLC

Your first consideration when choosing a name for your LLC is that it be unique from any other business in the state of Wyoming. You can quickly and easily do a name check on the Wyoming Secretary of State website business name database to verify that the business name you want is available. For a $50 fee, you can reserve a name for 120 days by filing an Application for Reservation of Name with the Secretary of State.

In order to comply with Wyoming state law, your company’s name must include the term “Limited Liability Company” or one of the following abbreviations: “LLC,” “L.L.C.,” “Limited Company,” “LC,” “L.C.,” “Ltd. Liability Company,” “Ltd. Liability Co.,” or “Limited Liability Co.”


Step 2
Appoint a Registered Agent in Wyoming

The state of Wyoming requires all LLCs to have a registered agent for service of process. This means your LLC must have an entity that agrees to physically accept any legal papers on the company’s behalf should it be sued. This entity does not have to be an individual person. The registered agent can be any resident of the state of Wyoming or a business entity authorized to do business in Wyoming so long as the agent has a physical street address within the state.


Step 3
File Wyoming Articles of Organization
To officially create your LLC in the state of Wyoming, you’ll need to complete the Articles of Organization paperwork and file them with the Wyoming Secretary of State. For a $100 fee, this can be done online or by mail. To complete this form you will need to know the following:
  1. The final name and address of your LLC
  2. The name and address of the company’s registered agent
  3. A separate written consent of appointment by the registered agent

Step 4
Create an Operating Agreement

You may want to consider preparing an operating agreement to outline the ownership and operating procedures for your LLC.

Though not required by the state, an operating agreement will set the guidelines for running your company. This does not need to be filed with the state, but it can go a long way toward ensuring your company’s success.


Step 5
Apply for an EIN and Review Tax Requirements

An IRS Employer Identification Number (EIN) is required of your LLC unless it is a single-member LLC with no employees. Obtaining an EIN is as easy as completing the application on the IRS website.

It’s possible your company will need to register with the Wyoming Department of Revenue (DOR). Whether or not your company needs to follow this step will depend on the exact types of taxes it will be collecting and/or has been collecting from the state. Forms are downloadable on the DOR website.

If your LLC will be selling a physical product, you’ll need to register for a sellers permit through the Wyoming Department of Revenue website. This will allow you to collect sales tax on taxable sales. Additionally, if you have employees, you’ll need to register for Unemployment Insurance Tax through the Wyoming Department of Workforce Services.


Other Considerations
Foreign LLCs and Business Licenses
Foreign LLCs

If your company is a foreign LLC, also referred to as an out-of-state LLC, wanting to do business in the state of Wyoming, you’ll need to follow all the steps outlined above with a few minor differences.

You will need to file an Application for Certificate of Authority with the Wyoming Secretary of State as well as a Certificate of Existence or a Certificate of Good Standing from your LLC’s domestic or home state. The certificate must date back no more than 60 days prior to filing.

The filing fee is the same: $100.

Business Licenses

Some industries will require you to secure federal, state, and/or local licenses to legally operate in the state of Wyoming.

Although there isn’t one central place where you can check to see if your business has everything it needs to be compliant, visiting the Wyoming Business Council can help you find the state-level licensing you need while this page from the U.S. Small Business Administration can aid your search on the federal level.

Although Wyoming has no statewide business tax, some cities and counties have their own licensing requirements.

What our customers are saying about us