Your first consideration when choosing a name for your LLC is that it be unique from any other business in the state of Alaska. You can quickly and easily do a name check on the Alaska Corporations Database on the Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development website to verify that the business name you want is available. For a $25 fee, you can reserve a business name for up to 120 days. To do so, file a Business or Corporation Name Reservation Application online or mail to the State of Alaska Corporations Section office.
In order to comply with Alaska state law, your company’s name must contain the term “Limited Liability Company” or the abbreviations “LLC” or “L.L.C.” You can also abbreviate “Limited” as “Ltd.” and “Company” as “Co.” Terms implying your LLC is a municipality (such as “city,” “borough,” or “village”) are prohibited.
The state of Alaska requires that any LLC have a registered agent for service of process. This means your LLC must have an entity that agrees to physically accept any legal papers on the company’s behalf should it be sued. This entity does not have to be an individual person. The registered agent can be any resident of the state of Alaska or a corporation authorized to do business in Alaska so long as the agent has a physical street address within the state.
You may want to consider preparing an operating agreement to outline the ownership and operating procedures for your LLC.
Though not required by the state, an operating agreement will set the guidelines for running your company. This does not need to be filed with the state, but it can go a long way toward ensuring your company’s success.
An IRS Employer Identification Number (EIN) is required of your LLC unless it is a single-member LLC with no employees. Obtaining an EIN is as easy as completing the application on the IRS website.
Depending on the nature of your business, you may be required to register for Alaska State Tax. Alaska is one of five states that do not impose a sales tax on taxable goods or services. Businesses without employees will not be responsible for any state tax in Alaska. If you have employees in Alaska, you will need to register for Unemployment Insurance Tax through the State of Alaska website.
After you have organized your LLC, it is your responsibility to file an Initial Report online or by postal mail with the State of Alaska Division of Corporations within 6 months of organization. There is no filing fee.
If your company is a foreign LLC, also referred to as an out-of-state LLC, wanting to do business in the state of Alaska, you’ll need to follow all the steps outlined above with a few minor differences.
You will need to file a Registration of Foreign LLC with the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing. This can be done online or by mail with a $350 fee.
All LLCs in Alaska must acquire an Alaska Business License. With a $50 filing fee, you can apply online or by postal mail by filing a New Alaska Business License Application. The license must be renewed every two years.
The location and type of business your LLC is engaged in may require additional federal, state, and local licenses. For more information, see the Alaska Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development website.