Arkansas LLC Cost

We’ve compiled the most common fees associated with forming an LLC in Arkansas.

Excellent 4.7 out of 5 stars 15,320 reviews

FAQs on how to determine LLC costs in Arkansas

  • While filing your Certificate of Organization is certainly an important step, this isn’t the only LLC cost you might have to pay. Here are a few other LLC costs and fees to be aware of as you get your Arkansas LLC up and running.

    Arkansas LLC Filing Fee – $45

    Again, the initial cost to file your Arkansas Certificate of Organization is $45 for online filings and $50 for paper filings. Filing your Certificate of Organization formally registers your business with the state.

    Application to Reserve LLC Name – $22.50

    You might find the perfect name for your entity before you’re ready to file your Certificate of Organization. Fortunately, you can easily “hold” that name while you gather your paperwork. You do this by filing an Application for Reservation of Entity Name form. For only $22.50 (or $25 for a paper filing), you can reserve your desired name and prevent others from taking it for a period of up to 120 days.

    Application for Fictitious Name – $25

    Some business owners may also decide they want to apply for a fictitious name for their company. Also referred to as a “doing business as” or DBA name, a fictitious name allows a business to operate under a name other than its official entity name on file with the state. You may want to do this for any number of reasons, including operating different branches of your company under different names. The total fee for filing an Application for Fictitious Name for an LLC is $25.

  • Notably, registering your LLC with the state is only the beginning. Thus, here are a few other fees and forms to be aware of as you set up your LLC entity.

    LLC Franchise Tax Report

    Under Arkansas law, all LLCs operating within the state must pay an annual franchise tax. To file your annual LLC Franchise Tax Report with the state requires a filing fee of $150. This fee will remain the same regardless of whether you file online or with a paper filing.

    Certificate of Amendment to Certificate of Organization

    Changes are common in the course of business. So if you decide you need to make a change to your business information after filing your initial Certificate of Organization, don’t fret. You can easily make a change to the information in your Certificate of Organization with a Certificate of Amendment to Certificate of Organization form.

    The filing fee for this is $22.50 for online filings and $25 for paper.

    Business Licensing

    Additionally, depending on what type of business you plan to run, there may be a number of business licenses and permits you’ll need to obtain. Some of the most common licenses and permits you may need for your Arkansas business include:

    • Alarm permits
    • Building permits
    • Business licenses
    • Tax permits
    • Health permits
    • Occupational permits
    • Signage permits
    • Zoning permits

    While determining what types of licenses and permits you need can be confusing, we’re here to help. With our partners at Avalara, we can provide you with a Business License Report to help you determine what types of licenses, permits, and registrations you may need for your company.

    Starting at just $0 plus state fees, we can form your Arkansas LLC for you in just minutes. No LegalZoom promo code required: Pay just $0 plus filing fees for fast LLC formation in Arkansas. 

  • Yes, failure to pay your fees on time can result in a number of different penalties, including: 

    • Late fees
    • Interest charges
    • Sanctions

    Not sure when your fees are due? Use our Worry-Free Compliance Service to help you stay on track and keep your business legally compliant with the state. 

  • Prompt payment of your filing fees is crucial to the success of your business. In fact, failure to do so can result in the revocation or involuntary dissolution of your LLC. And if your entity is dissolved, you’ll have to pay additional fees and penalties to bring your LLC back into compliance and in good standing with the state. 

    Thus, it’s imperative that you make timely filings and payments

  • All filings for your Arkansas LLC must be submitted to the Arkansas Secretary of State.

  • For many Arkansas LLCs, the largest fee you’ll have to pay is the filing fee for your Certificate of Organization—either $45 or $50, as stated above.

    However, when voluntarily dissolving your LLC, don’t forget to submit your Final Franchise Tax Report and the applicable $150 fee along with your Articles of Dissolution.

  • The State of Arkansas accepts credit cards or ACH drafts for online filings.  

Arkansas Secretary of State Contact Information

Mailing Address:
State Capitol, Suite 256
500 Woodlane Street
Little Rock, AR 72201
Email:
corporations@sos.arkansas.gov
Telephone (Main):
501-682-3409
Website:
https://www.sos.arkansas.gov/

We can help!

No matter where you are in the business lifecycle, we’ll be there for you at every step along the way. Learn more about our many business tools and resources and see how we can help you start, manage, and grow your Arkansas LLC today.

Disclaimer: The content on this page is for information purposes only and does not constitute legal, tax, or accounting advice. If you have specific questions about any of these topics, seek the counsel of a licensed professional.

zenbusiness logo

Written by Team ZenBusiness

Form Your LLC in Arkansas