Kansas LLC Cost

We’ve compiled the most common fees associated with forming an LLC in Kansas.

Excellent 4.8 out of 5 stars 15,659 reviews

FAQs on how to determine Kansas LLC costs

  • When you form an LLC, the new legal entity separates the owner’s personal interests from the business obligations. To register for this liability protection, you’ll need to pay a few fees and complete the filing requirements. What does it cost to start a business in Kansas? Consider these as the top three fees for a Kansas LLC.

    Kansas LLC Filing Fee – $166

    The filing fee for a Kansas LLC Articles of Organization is $166 if you file online using your KanAccess login. You may choose to mail your Articles to the Secretary of State for $166. Or, you can fax your filing for an additional $20 fee.

    Annual Report Fee – $50 to $55

    Kansas doesn’t require LLCs to pay a franchise fee or privilege tax for doing business in the state. However, you’ll need to file an annual report with the Secretary of State within the 15th day of the 4th month after the end of the tax year (usually April 15). You’ll pay a $50 fee if you file your annual reports online or $55 for a paper form.

    Resident Agent and Registered Office Fee – Free

    When you complete your Articles of Organization, you’ll include the name and address of a Resident Agent (a.k.a Registered Agent) and their Registered Office. You can name yourself the LLC’s Resident Agent. However, Resident Agents must be at their physical address in Kansas to receive legal notices during business hours.

    Many small business owners hire a commercial registered agent to avoid being tied to an office all day. We can help connect you with a reliable Resident Agent with our Kansas Registered Agent Service.

  • As a new business owner, your LLC may have to pay other one time-fees. The average cost to start a business in Kansas depends on your business industry and location.

    Certificate of Good Standing

    You may need to request a Certificate of Good Standing (a.k.a. Certificate of Existence) when you apply for loans, renew your business licenses, or pay taxes. The Certificate confirms that your business is in compliance with the state’s business laws, in good standing, and authorized to transact business within the state.

    To obtain your Certificate of Good Standing, you’ll find your LLC on the Secretary of State’s Business Entity Search. Click the button to order your Certificate for $10. You can also order by mail or phone for $15.

    Tax Clearance Certificate

    When you apply for a business loan, sign a contract, or sell part of your business, you may need to produce a Tax Clearance Certificate. Kansas issues the Certificate that will confirm that the business is in compliance with all:

    • Kansas tax laws overseen by the director of taxation within the Kansas Department of Revenue
    • Taxes, fees, and payments collected by the Kansas Department of Labor
    • Other various fees applied by Kansas state agencies

    There is no fee to apply for a Tax Clearance Certificate from the Department of Revenue.

    DBA Name in Kansas

    Unlike most states, Kansas doesn’t register “doing business as,” d/b/a, assumed name, trade name, or fictitious name entities (BESS). If you want to protect your brand name, logo, or slogan, you can apply for a trademark with the Secretary of State.

    Registering a trademark doesn’t guarantee that no one else has a superior right to use that mark in commerce. Instead, your registration is evidence of your LLC using the mark. The filing fee for a trademark application is $40, and you’ll need three examples of the mark’s use in commerce.

    Foreign LLC

    Suppose you formed your LLC in another state and now want to do business in Kansas. In that case, you’ll need to register as a foreign covered entity. You’ll submit a Foreign Entity Application for Registration to the Kansas Secretary of State. Kansas doesn’t offer online filing for this form. Submit a $165 filing fee with your application by mail.

    Business Licensing

    Kansas doesn’t require a general business license. Still, your LLC might need to apply for licenses, permits, and registrations if you engage in certain business activities, like:

    • Technical professions (engineering or architecture)—$170 application fee
    • Retailer’s sales tax—6.5% plus local sales tax if applicable
    • Privilege tax for financial institutions only
    • Transient guest tax on hotels
    • Vehicle rental excise tax on car rentals
    • Dry cleaning surcharge on dry cleaning business
    • Taxes on sales of cigarettes and liquor

    There is no registration fee to set up your tax account with the Department of Revenue unless your business sells tobacco (then $25). You might also need to register at the local and federal levels. Let us complete the search for you. When you request a Business License Report, our partners at Avalara will provide you with a comprehensive list of the specific licenses, permits, and registrations your business needs.

    For just $0 plus state fees, we can form your Kansas LLC for you in just minutes. No LegalZoom promo code required: Pay just $0 plus filing fees for fast LLC formation in Kansas.

  • Yes. If you don’t pay your fees on time, you could be responsible for a $75 late fee, interest payments, and other legal consequences. In addition to any other penalties, failing to file your annual report within 90 days of the due date forfeits your Articles of Organization. Without the Articles in effect, your LLC won’t legally exist, and you won’t be protected from liability.

  • If you try to submit your documents without including the fee, the Secretary of State can refuse to file them. Your LLC does not exist until the Secretary of State files your Articles of Organization. Without these documents, you’ll be at risk of increased liability like the owners of a sole proprietorship or general partnership.

  • When you file your Articles of Organization, you pay a fee to the Secretary of State. 

  • The biggest cost to start a business in Kansas is the filing fee for your Articles of Organization, which is $166. The amount of fees you’ll need to pay depends on the type of business you run, the location of your business, and the needs of your business.

  • The Secretary of State accepts filing fees paid by check, money order, or credit card. Additionally, you can pay with an electronic check if you file online.

Kansas Secretary of State Contact Information

Mailing Address:
120 SW 10th Avenue
Topeka, KS 66612-1594
Email:
kssos@ks.gov
Telephone:
785-296-4564
Website:
https://www.sos.ks.gov/

We can help!

We know starting a business has a lot of steps and details. When you form your business with us, you’ll get access to our team of business experts who will guide you through every stage of your business. Let us complete the paperwork for you and help you get your business up and running quickly and easily.

Disclaimer: The content on this page is for information purposes only, and does not constitute legal, tax, or accounting advice. If you have specific questions about any of these topics, seek the counsel of a licensed professional.

zenbusiness logo

Written by Team ZenBusiness

File Your LLC in Kansas