Louisiana LLC Cost
We’ve compiled the most common fees so you know exactly what to expect when starting your Louisiana LLC.
How to Determine Louisiana LLC Costs
- How much is an LLC in Louisiana?
- Louisiana LLC Cost: How do I get started?
- What fees go into the total LLC cost in Louisiana?
- What other Louisiana LLC fees should I look out for?
- Are there penalties for paying my fees late in Louisiana?
- What happens if I can't pay my filing fee to the Louisiana government?
- Who receives the filing fees for forming my Louisiana business?
- What is the largest fee I will pay when I form my Louisiana LLC?
- What payment methods can I use to pay my LLC or corporation filing fees to the Louisiana government?
- How do I form my LLC in Louisiana?
How much is an LLC in Louisiana?💲
The cost to start an LLC in Louisiana is $125.
Louisiana LLC Cost: How do I get started?🚀
To start a Louisiana LLC, you’ll file Articles of Organization and a Certificate of Name Reservation with the Secretary of State. You need several pieces of information before you can complete the filing requirements. Our business experts can walk you through the process. Start your LLC quickly and easily with our Louisiana LLC Formation Service.
We can handle your LLC formation documents in Louisiana for just $49.
What fees go into the final LLC cost in Louisiana?💰
In Louisiana, the cost to start a business in Louisiana may include the following fees.
Louisiana LLC Filing Fee
$125: Louisiana charges a $100 filing fee for the Articles of Organization and $25 for a Name Reservation. Also, you need to obtain your FIEN to register your business in Louisiana (see below).
Annual Corporation Franchise Taxes
$0 to $110: Every year, any legal entity taxed as a corporation for federal income tax purposes must pay a Corporation Franchise Tax. The franchise tax only applies to LLCs that elect corporate taxation with the IRS. If you’re subject to the tax, the initial corporation franchise tax is $110. You’ll multiply any capital employed in Louisiana above $300,000 against the current rate for each additional year.
Registered Agent Fee
Free. You can act as your own Registered Agent in Louisiana and avoid paying a fee. But if you name yourself, you must be available during all regular business hours to accept legal notifications. Many business owners choose to hire a commercial Registered Agent for a small recurring fee. We can help you identify a reliable Registered Agent for your LLC with our Louisiana Registered Agent Service.
What other Louisiana LLC fees should I look out for?🔍
When forming a Louisiana LLC, paying the filing fee for your Articles of Organization, Name Reservation, and Corporate Franchise Taxes aren’t the only fees you’ll owe. Your Louisiana LLC cost might also include these annual and one-time fees.
Certificate of Organization
When the Secretary of State files your Articles of Organization, they’ll issue a Certificate of Organization reflecting your company’s existence. You may need to provide your Certificate of Organization when you apply for loans or negotiate contracts. Certified copies are $15 each. If you need duplicate certificates, the cost is $20 each.
Certificate of Good Standing💯
A Certificate of Good Standing tells third parties that your LLC has paid its state taxes and filed its annual returns. You can obtain a Certificate of Good Standing from the Secretary of State or the Department of Revenue. The fee is $15 for an individual certified document. For more than one document filed by the same entity or the complete file for the entity, the fee is $25.
DBA Name in Louisiana😎
If you conduct business using a name other than its official name, consider filing a “doing business as” or DBA name. In Louisiana, a business will file its DBA name at the parish level with the Clerk of Court. Local registration allows consumers to identify your business.
If you need legal protections for your business name, you can register a Trade Name, Trademark, or Service Mark for $75.
Suppose you formed your LLC in another state but want to do business in Louisiana. In that case, you’ll register your business as a foreign LLC. To legally operate as an out-of-state LLC, you need to file an Application of Foreign Limited Liability Company with the Secretary of State. The filing fee for this document is $150.
The average cost to start a business in Louisiana will depend on the nature and location of your business. You might need to pay fees for:
- Business licenses
You might need to pay these fees at the local, state, and federal levels. The Louisiana Secretary of State provides a checklist for new businesses. But determining which licenses you need can be tricky. So we’ve worked with Avalara to provide you with a custom Business License Report that breaks down the licenses, permits, and registrations your business needs.
For just $49, we can form your Louisiana LLC for you in just minutes. No LegalZoom promo code required: Pay just $49 plus filing fees for fast LLC formation in Louisiana.
Are there penalties for paying my fees late in Louisiana?📆
Yes. If you’re behind on paying your fees, the state can revoke your Articles of Organization. To get back into good standing, you’ll then have to file a reinstatement form with higher filing fees than regular annual reports.
What happens if I can’t pay my filing fee to the Louisiana government?🚩
If you can’t pay the filing fee, the Secretary of State can decline to file your documents. Without active Articles of Organization, your LLC won’t be legally formed. As the business owner, you might face increased liability like owners of sole proprietorships or general partnerships.
Who receives the filing fees for forming my Louisiana business?💸
You pay a filing fee for your Articles of Organization to the Secretary of State.
What is the largest fee I will pay when I form my Louisiana LLC?📈
What does it cost to start a business in Louisiana? To answer that question, you’ll need to explore all the possible fees for your situation. However, the fee for filing your Articles of Organization is usually the most expensive. It is $100, plus $25 for your Name Reservation. Your largest fee will vary with the industry your business operates in, the location of your business, and your business needs.
What payment methods can I use to pay my LLC filing fees to the Louisiana government?💳
When you file online, you can pay by credit card but expect an electronic payment fee. You can use a check or money order to file by mail. The Secretary of State’s office also accepts cash payments if you file in person.
How do I form my LLC in Louisiana?📋
Name your LLC📛
You’ll choose your official business name when you register with the state. Your business name can reflect your goals for the business. However, your LLC name must:
- Contain L.L.C., L.C. or Limited Liability Company
- Not imply that the business has an unlawful or contrary purpose to its Articles of Organization
- Not contain the phrase “doing business as” or the abbreviation “d/b/a”
- Be distinguishable from other business names registered with the Louisiana Secretary of State
When you’ve decided on a name, you’ll file a Name Reservation with the Secretary of State. We can help you check your name against Louisiana’s requirements with our Business Name Checker. Then, let us reserve your name with our Business Name Reservation Service.
Select a Registered Agent✋
In Louisiana, your Articles of Organization must be accompanied by an affidavit of registered agent if you choose to appoint a Registered Agent. All Registered Agents must be available during business hours at their registered office to receive service of process and other important legal notices on behalf of your LLC. Your Registered Agent needs to have a physical address in Louisiana, and it’s important that they forward all notices to your LLC.
You can be your own Registered Agent, but that role may bind you to the office and keep you from focusing on business growth. It’s preferable to use a Registered Agent service to stay compliant.
Get an EIN 🔢
You’ll need to list your federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN or EIN) to complete your Articles of Organization in Louisiana. The IRS issues EINs to new businesses to identify when they pay taxes or report wage withholdings. LLCs must apply for an EIN if the LLC has more than one member, has employees, or runs as a corporation.
Even if you aren’t required to obtain an EIN, it’s a good idea to have one. You can use your EIN instead of your personal social security number when filing business tax documents. Also, you’ll need an EIN to open business bank accounts and secure business insurance policies.
To get an EIN, you have to file an application with the IRS. Let us handle this step for you with our Employer ID Number Service.
File your LLC’s Articles of Organization✉
The most significant document you need to form an LLC is the Articles of Organization. You can file with the Secretary of State online, by mail, or in person in Baton Rouge. When you log in through the online portal geauxBIZ, you can simultaneously register with the Louisiana Secretary of State, the Louisiana Department of Revenue, and the Louisiana Workforce Commission. If you choose to register by mail, send your Articles of Organization and filing fee to:
P. O. Box 94125
Baton Rouge, LA
Create an Operating Agreement📃
An LLC’s Operating Agreement sets the rules for how the owners will run the LLC. You can use your Operating Agreement to customize your experience as a business owner. Operating Agreements can:
- Describe the liability of the members
- Customize how to distribute profits and losses
- Guide the owners in resolving disputes
Without an Operating Agreement, your LLC must follow the default rules in Louisiana law. It’s always better to write your own rules because the default rules for limited liability companies aren’t always tailored to the business owner’s needs.
We provide an Operating Agreement Template to help you write your own rules. Use it as a guide to help your Operating Agreement match your business goals.
Check Louisiana Annual Requirements📅
Every Louisiana LLC will file an annual report with the Secretary of State by May 15 (or the 15th day of the fifth month after the end of the tax year). If your LLC elects corporate taxation, your business must include its Corporate Franchise Tax. You’ll include a $30 filing fee with your annual report.
If you don’t file on time, you could have late fees and interest. If you fail to file for three years, the Secretary of State has the right to revoke your Articles of Organization.
Avoid the stress. Let us remind you of upcoming deadlines and file your annual report with our Annual Report Service.
Stay Legally Compliant👍
It’s normal for a business to go through changes as it grows. But changes to your Articles of Organization need to be updated with the government. The Secretary of State charges a $100 fee to file Amended Articles. To help you stay in compliance, try our Worry-Free Compliance Service, which includes up to two amendments per year. Plus, we’ll keep track of your business’s other compliance requirements and organize your documents for you.
We can help!💪
We know running a business can be challenging. That’s why we created our business formation and compliance services. Our business experts can help you get your LLC up and running quickly and remain in good standing. Let us handle the details while you focus on growing your business.
Disclaimer: The content on this page is for information purposes only, and does not constitute legal, tax, or accounting advice. If you have specific questions about any of these topics, seek the counsel of a licensed professional.
Ready to get started?
This is it.
Create Your Louisiana LLC in Minutes
Start an LLC in Your State
When it comes to compliance, costs, and other factors, these are popular states for forming an LLC.
New York LLC
New Jersey LLC
South Carolina LLC
New Mexico LLC
New Hampshire LLC
South Dakota LLC
Rhode Island LLC
North Dakota LLC
West Virginia LLC
Washington DC LLC