Connecticut LLC Cost

We’ve compiled the most common fees associated with forming an LLC in Connecticut.

Excellent 4.8 out of 5 stars 16,025 reviews

FAQs on how to determine Connecticut LLC costs

  • If you’re wondering about the cost to start a business in Connecticut, there are some things to take into consideration. Filing your Connecticut LLC Certificate of Organization is the official step that creates your legal business, but there are some additional steps that may have some associated costs.

    Connecticut LLC Filing Fee – $120

    A Connecticut Certificate of Organization costs $120 to officially file. Many fees are recurring and not one-time fees. But you pay your formation fee only once.

    Registered Agent Fee – Free

    You can be your own registered agent in Connecticut, but it’s not recommended. Registered agents have to be available during all regular business hours to receive legal and business correspondence. Most businesses use a registered agent service.

    Sales and Use Tax Permit – $100

    The State of Connecticut requires businesses to obtain a Sales and Use Tax Permit (also known as a seller’s permit) if the business intends to engage in any of the following activities:

    • Sale of taxable services
    • Sale, rental, or lease of goods
    • Operating a hotel, motel, or lodging business

    This permit is acquired from the Connecticut Department of Revenue Services. You can’t legally conduct business without this permit. You’ll need to factor this into your Connecticut LLC cost.

  • Connecticut Annual Report

    $80: Connecticut requires an Annual Report with the Secretary of State. It’s due each year by the end of the month in which the LLC was initially registered.

    Connecticut LLC Name Reservation

    $60: Reserving your business name prior to registration is optional, but allows you to put your desired name on hold so no one else can take it between the time when you decide on the name and when you file your Certificate of Organization. You will need to file an Application for Reservation of Name, or we can do it for you with our Business Name Reservation Service.

    Connecticut Certificate of Good Standing

    $50: A certificate of good standing proves that your business is operating in full compliance with the state. This is often required by banks and lenders when opening business accounts.

    Assumed Name / Doing Business As (DBA)

    Varies: If you choose to use a name other than your official business name, you may file an Assumed Name Certificate. This document is county-specific. Check with your county clerk for additional information on filing and cost.

    Business Licenses and Permits

    Varies: Many businesses require some sort of license or permit for operations. Depending on your specific industry and location, your business could need federal, state, or local business licenses to operate. Determining what you need can require a lot of time-consuming research. Let us help with our Business License Service.

    Plain Document Copies

    $40: Obtain plain copies of your Connecticut business documents through the Secretary of State.

    Certified Document Copies

    $55: Obtain certified copies of your Connecticut business documents by ordering through the Secretary of State.

    Registering a Foreign LLC in Connecticut

    $120: This Connecticut LLC filing fee only applies to LLCs that are registered in another state and would like to conduct business in Connecticut. The cost of filing a Foreign Registration Statement is $120.

    Starting at $0 plus state fees, we can form your Connecticut LLC for you in just minutes. No LegalZoom promo code required: Pay just $0 plus filing fees for fast LLC formation in Connecticut. 

  • Your Connecticut LLC isn’t officially formed until you pay your filing fee for your Certificate of Organization. Additionally, failing to submit and pay your Annual Report fees could result in penalties or even dissolution of your LLC. 

    Failing to obtain a sales and use tax permit before conducting business in Connecticut can prove very costly. Penalties start at $250 the first day and $100 for every subsequent day. 

  • If you cannot pay your Connecticut LLC filing fee, the government can deny formation of your limited liability company. You can still operate as a sole proprietorship or general partnership without registering with the state. 

  • Submit your Connecticut Certificate of Organization registration and filing fee to the Secretary of State. 

  • As long as you don’t have any penalties, the largest fee to start your Connecticut limited liability company will be the Connecticut LLC cost of your $120 Certificate of Organization. Fees may vary based on the type of business you have and your location. You could potentially incur higher costs for licensing and permits.

  • You can submit many of your documents and filing fees online with the Secretary of State and pay using a credit card. You will need to create a business account on the state website.

    Some documents can be filed by mail, in which case you can pay using a check.

We can help!

Starting and running your own Connecticut LLC can be rewarding but difficult. Let us handle some of the tedious stuff, so you can get back to planning and growing your business. We’re here to provide support and peace of mind. 

Disclaimer: The content on this page is for informational purposes only, and does not constitute legal, tax, or accounting advice. If you have specific questions about any of these topics, seek the counsel of a licensed professional.

Connecticut Secretary of State Contact Information

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 150470
Hartford, CT  06115-0470
Physical Address:
165 Capitol Avenue
Suite 1000
Hartford, CT 06106

Disclaimer: The content on this page is for information purposes only and does not constitute legal, tax, or accounting advice. If you have specific questions about any of these topics, seek the counsel of a licensed professional.

zenbusiness logo

Written by Team ZenBusiness

Start Your LLC in Connecticut