We’ve compiled the most common fees so you know exactly what to expect when starting your New Jersey LLC.
The typical New Jersey LLC starts with a Certificate of Formation, an Annual Report, and a tax registration. You need to file these documents on time, and you need to give the appropriate business information with your filings.
Completing and submitting your LLC documents can take up your time and energy. Fortunately, we can help you complete this task in no time with our New Jersey LLC Formation Service.
We can help you quickly make your New Jersey LLC a reality for just $0 plus state fees. Just click the Start My Business button below.
What does it cost to start a business in New Jersey? You might have to pay several fees to start your New Jersey LLC, including the following:
$129: It costs
$129 to file a New Jersey Certificate of Formation and $75 to file your LLC Annual Report. Your Annual Report is due on the last day of the month in which you filed your Certificate of Formation.
New Jersey LLC tax liabilities vary. The state of New Jersey taxes many business activities, so there’s a good chance you will have to pay business taxes. The amount of taxes your LLC has to pay depends on your LLC’s activities and business volume.
Your LLC needs to have a Registered Agent who’s available in the state to accept important legal documents for your LLC. You can be your own Registered Agent, so there’s technically no fee. But when you’re trying to build your business, taking on the Registered Agent role yourself can hurt you more than it helps. Many entrepreneurs hire a Registered Agent to fulfill this obligation. With our New Jersey Registered Agent Service, we can help you find a good Registered Agent who complies with state law.
In general, LLC owners have to file Certificates of Formation, Annual Reports, and tax registrations to get started. However, you might have additional startup costs that depend on your specific business needs.
Regardless of whether they’re new or old, a lot of businesses need the funding of a third party to run. If you’re looking for financing from banks and investors, you’re probably going to need to present a Standing Certificate. A New Jersey Standing Certificate lets others know if your LLC is compliant with state law. There are two types you can obtain from the state. The fee for a Short Form LLC Standing Certificate is $50, and the fee for a Long Form LLC Standing Certificate is $100.
Your New Jersey LLC can have more than one name. If you use a name other than your LLC’s official name, that name is your LLC’s “doing business as” or DBA name. New Jersey calls this an Alternate Name. To use an Alternate Name, you have to submit a Registration of Alternate Name form to the Division of Revenue and pay a $50 fee.
If you formed your LLC outside of New Jersey, you need to file a Certificate of Authorization to do business in New Jersey. The Certificate of Authorization costs $125.
After your LLC becomes official under state law, you might need permission to actually run your business. You might need permission in the form of:
There are fees associated with these that you might have to pay to local, state, and federal government entities. Whether you need permits and licenses depends on what kind of business you run and where your business is located.
Figuring out which licenses and permits your LLC needs can take a lot of research. With our partners at Avalara, we can research your business license obligations for you and give you the results in our comprehensive Business License Report.
For just $0 plus state fees, we can form your New Jersey LLC for you in just minutes. No LegalZoom promo code required: Pay just $0 plus filing fees for fast LLC formation in New Jersey.
If you fail to pay your LLC fees on time, the state can block you from forming your business, or it can take your business away.
If you can’t pay your filing fee, you can’t start an LLC.
You pay your Certificate of Formation fee to the Division of Revenue.
It depends on your specific business needs, but your largest filing fee for your New Jersey LLC is likely to be
$129for your Certificate of Formation.
You can pay your filing fees by credit card or check.
Tell the state and the public what to call you by giving your LLC a name. This name goes on your Certificate of Formation. There are a few rules you have to follow when naming your LLC. Your LLC name has to:
Name your LLC
Enter your desired business name to get started
Your LLC’s Registered Agent plays a crucial role in keeping your LLC legally compliant. Your Registered Agent needs to maintain a continuous physical presence in New Jersey and accept important legal documents on behalf of your LLC. To free up your time to handle other business matters, you can hire a Registered Agent instead of fulfilling the role yourself.
Your LLC is official once you file your Certificate of Formation with the Division of Revenue. You can file this document using the state’s online portal, or you can file by mail.
You can write your own business rule book by creating an Operating Agreement for your LLC. Your Operating Agreement can dictate:
Without your own, customized rules, you have to run your business according to the default rules in New Jersey law. New Jersey’s default rules aren’t always ideal for addressing your business needs because they aren’t tailored to your specific circumstances.
Don’t worry about how to get started with writing your Operating Agreement. Our Operating Agreement Template can help you get a quick and easy start for drafting your own business rules.
You want to make sure your business properly pays its taxes. To properly pay federal taxes, LLCs that have employees, run as partners, or run as corporations must have Employer Identification Numbers (EINs). And even if your LLC doesn’t require an EIN, it’s best to have one for opening business bank accounts and obtaining resources. You obtain an EIN from the IRS. We can make this process easy with our Employer ID Number Service.
Your New Jersey LLC has to file an Annual Report. Every year, this Annual Report is due on the last day of the month in which you filed your Certificate of Formation. If you don’t file your Annual Report and pay the associated fee, the state can take away your business. The threat of losing your business is steep, but we can help you easily stay on top of your annual requirements with our Annual Report Service.
It’s not enough to properly form your business. You have to make sure you’re regularly keeping your business in line with government requirements. Keeping your business in line can involve amending your formation paperwork and filing regular reports. We can help you with all of this through our Worry-Free Compliance Service. Our service keeps track of your business’s compliance requirements, and it files up to two business amendments for you per year.
A good business owner knows how to use their resources wisely. We can be a great resource to help you run your business smoothly. We can help you start your LLC quickly and easily and stay on top of your compliance needs to help you keep your LLC legally compliant.
Disclaimer: The content on this page is for information purposes only, and does not constitute legal, tax, or accounting advice. If you have specific questions about any of these topics, seek the counsel of a licensed professional.
IT'S FAST AND SIMPLE
Take it from real customers
Tymeka B was very helpful!
Tymeka B was very helpful!
Taylor A. was extremely patient and understanding
VOTE FOR PEDROOOOO!
Pedro was great, helped answer all the questions we had timely, kind, courteous. Dude needs a raise, and a bonus #PEDROFORPRESIDENT
over 500,000 customers agree!
Start Your LLC in New Jersey
Enter your desired name to get started
New Jersey Business Resources
LLC Cost by State
Start an LLC in Your State
When it comes to compliance, costs, and other factors, these are popular states for forming an LLC.
Ready to get started?
Create Your New Jersey LLC in Minutes